Day 11 – 30 Days Wild…

Wild Photograms…

 

 

 

 

Today I spent time doing one of my most favourite activities and created some wild art!

It’s been a year since I last spent time in the darkroom and to be honest it’s been far too long. I’ve been reading all the #30DaysWild posts from people who have been making sun prints with photo sensitive craft paper and it got me craving some time in the darkroom making photograms.

A photogram is a cameraless photographic image made by placing objects directly onto the surface of light-sensitive material such as photographic paper and then exposing it to light. Some of the first photographic images made were photograms, the process made famous by Henry Fox Talbot a British scientist, inventor and photography pioneer, Anna Atkins an English Botanist and photographer and later by Man Ray who called them ‘Rayographs’.

Over the past couple of days I have been collecting various grasses and leaves out on walks and flowers from my garden to use for this activity. It’s easy to lose track of time in the darkroom and what was going to be a quick one hour activity turned into three!

I have experimented a lot with photograms over the years and I discovered that the use of natural materials (and bubblewrap!!) are my favourite objects to use. Of all the technology we possess, getting back to the fundamentals of photography has got to be the most satisfying of all the processes…and once set up photograms really are such a simple and beautiful way of creating an image!!

Now I just need the sun to make a reappearance so I can create some sun prints with my paper that the postman delivered yesterday…

Leave a Reply

